Brain, Language, & Acoustic Behavior Laboratory

People

Caroline Niziolek

Principal Investigator

cniziolek@wisc.edu

How does what we hear affect what we say? My research combines neuroimaging and acoustic measures in an attempt to characterize speech feedback processing and what purpose it serves in communication. The overarching hypothesis that frames my work is that communicative intent defines the brain’s motor plans for speech goals.

. Akshat

Graduate Research Assistant/Programmer

akshat@wisc.edu

I am doing my masters in Electrical and Computer Engineering focusing on Machine Learning.  I am passionate about bringing the fields of medicine and IT together to solve problems in a smarter way.  Apart from academics, I like to travel, explore new cuisines and read.

Sarah Bakst

Postdoctoral Research Associate

sbakst@wisc.edu

Giovanni Battistini

Research Assistant

battistini@wisc.edu

I am a senior majoring in Neurobiology, and am planning to attend medical school after graduation.  I hope to gain new perspectives and knowledge about the brain and its functions in my time with the lab.

Nickolas Comeau

Research Assistant/Programmer

ncomeau@wisc.edu

I am an undergraduate senior studying Neurobiology and Computer Science at UW-Madison.  Through my involvement with the lab, I am building an understanding of how the brain produces and interprets speech.  I hope to use this to inform my interests in natural language processing.

Carissa Ernat

Graduate Research Assistant

cernat@wisc.edu

I am a second year Master’s Student studying Speech-Language Pathology at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. I am interested in acquired neurogenics, such as aphasia, and learning the most effective and functional ways to provide therapy for that population. This lab helps connect my clinical knowledge with extremely interesting research about the role of the brain in motor planning and speech production.

Elisa Ou

Graduate Research Assistant/Programmer

you35@wisc.edu

Jordyn Salm

Research Assistant

salm3@wisc.edu

Collaborators

 

Ben Parrell, UW–Madison, Speech Motor Action + Control Lab
Swathi Kiran, Boston University, Aphasia Research Laboratory
Sara Beach, MIT, Gabrieli Lab
John Houde, UCSF, Speech Neuroscience Laboratory
Zarinah Agnew, UCSF, Speech Neuroscience Laboratory
Srikantan Nagarajan, UCSF, Biomagnetic Imaging Lab
Edward Chang, UCSF, Chang Lab
Clara Martin, BCBL, Speech and Bilingualism

Lab Alumni

Danielle Revai

Graduate Research Assistant

revai@wisc.edu