Brain, Language, & Acoustic Behavior Laboratory

People

Caroline Niziolek

Position title: Principal Investigator

Email: cniziolek@wisc.edu

How does what we hear affect what we say? My research combines neuroimaging and acoustic measures in an attempt to characterize speech feedback processing and what purpose it serves in communication. The overarching hypothesis that frames my work is that communicative intent defines the brain’s motor plans for speech goals.

Sarah Bakst

Position title: Postdoctoral Research Associate

Email: sbakst@wisc.edu

Typical speakers with normal hearing are able to detect even small, subphonemic variations in their own speech. In healthy speakers producing their native language, auditory feedback thus plays an important role in detecting errors during speech production. The aim of my research is to understand the role of auditory feedback in populations where the representation of auditory targets is abnormal, whether because phonetic categories are new, as in second language acquisition, or because incoming acoustic information is degraded, as when filtered through a cochlear implant.

Personal website
Current CV

Dominick Battistini

Position title: Research Assistant

Email: dbattistini@wisc.edu

I am a neurobiology major going into my second year here at the University of Wisconsin- Madison.  I am pursuing a career in medicine and I like to spend my free time playing the trumpet and tennis!

Alexandria Beam

Position title: Research Assistant

Email: ambeam@wisc.edu

Nickolas Comeau

Position title: Research Assistant/Programmer

Email: ncomeau@wisc.edu

I am an undergraduate senior studying Neurobiology and Computer Science at UW-Madison.  Through my involvement with the lab, I am building an understanding of how the brain produces and interprets speech.  I hope to use this to inform my interests in natural language processing.

Lana Hantzsch

Position title: Lab Manager

Email: lhantzsch@wisc.edu

Sophie Johnson

Position title: Research Assistant

Email: sajohnson37@wisc.edu

Morgan Kuckkahn

Position title: Research Assistant

Email: mkuckkahn@wisc.edu

I am an undergraduate Junior majoring in Communication Sciences & Disorders. My plan is to continue on to graduate school to become a speech-language pathologist.

Anna Mah

Position title: Graduate Research Assistant

Email: amah2@wisc.edu

Lauren Powell

Position title: Research Assistant

Email: lpowell6@wisc.edu

I am an Undergraduate Senior studying Neurobiology, and am planning to go into laboratory research.

Erin Tippit

Position title: Graduate Research Assistant

Email: tippit@wisc.edu

I’m a speech-language pathology master’s student here at UW-Madison.

Collaborators

 

Ben Parrell, UW–Madison, Speech Motor Action + Control Lab
Swathi Kiran, Boston University, Aphasia Research Laboratory
Sara Beach, MIT, Gabrieli Lab
John Houde, UCSF, Speech Neuroscience Laboratory
Zarinah Agnew, UCSF, Speech Neuroscience Laboratory
Srikantan Nagarajan, UCSF, Biomagnetic Imaging Lab
Edward Chang, UCSF, Chang Lab
Tara McAllister, NYU, Biofeedback Intervention Technology for Speech Lab
Clara Martin, BCBL, Speech and Bilingualism