Brain, Language, & Acoustic Behavior Laboratory

People

Caroline Niziolek

Position title: Principal Investigator

Email: cniziolek@wisc.edu

How does what we hear affect what we say? My research combines neuroimaging and acoustic measures in an attempt to characterize speech feedback processing and what purpose it serves in communication. The overarching hypothesis that frames my work is that communicative intent defines the brain’s motor plans for speech goals.

Katla Anderson

Position title: Research Assistant

Email: kmanderson35@wisc.edu

I’m a junior majoring in Communication Sciences and Disorders and Psychology. After undergrad, I’m planning on pursuing a degree in audiology. I’m especially interested in helping people with cochlear implants.

Sara Beach

Position title: Postdoctoral Research Associate

Email: beach4@wisc.edu

I am a postdoc studying the effects of inhibition on speech acoustics and the neural mechanisms of speech-error detection in persons with aphasia.

 

I received my PhD from Harvard University in Speech and Hearing Bioscience and Technology. My dissertation work, advised by John Gabrieli at MIT, examined perceptual processing in dyslexia using behavioral, EEG, MEG, and neural-decoding methods.

Carly Benson

Position title: Research Assistant

Email: cbenson6@wisc.edu

I am an undergraduate junior studying Communication Sciences and Disorders with a certificate in Disability Rights and Services. I am planning on pursuing a career in Speech-Language Pathology.

Reegan Chisholm

Position title: Research Assistant

Email: rachisholm@wisc.edu

I’m a senior majoring in Communication Sciences and Disorders and Biology, with a certificate in Disability Rights and Services. After undergrad, I plan on pursuing a master’s degree in Speech Language Pathology.

Lily Englebert

Position title: Research Assistant

Email: lgenglebert@wisc.edu

I am a sophomore undergraduate majoring in psychology and neurobiology. I am planning on going to medical school after graduating from UW.

Elena Groves

Position title: Graduate Research Assistant

Email: ekgroves@wisc.edu

I am a first-year master’s student in Speech-Language Pathology. In 2021, I graduated from UW-Madison with a B.A. in Communication Sciences & Disorders and Linguistics. I am eager to further explore my interests in acoustics and communication-related neuroscience through involvement in the lab.

Sophie Johnson

Position title: Research Staff

Email: sajohnson37@wisc.edu

Ellie Kraichely

Position title: Research Assistant

Email: kraichely@wisc.edu

I am an undergraduate sophomore at UW studying Communication Sciences and Disorders with hopes of pursuing a career in speech pathology.

Emilio Moreno

Position title: Research Assistant

Email: emoreno5@wisc.edu

I am a sophomore majoring in neurobiology and Spanish. After graduating from UW-Madison, I intend to go on a medical service trip to Mexico for a year before attending medical school.

Chris Naber

Position title: Lab Manager

Email: cwnaber@wisc.edu

I studied Psychology, Linguistics, and Music Performance at Emory University. After a stint at Epic and UW-Madison’s CSD capstone program, I started working in SMAC Lab in Summer 2019. I programmed experiments related to timing in speech, assisted students on projects, and improved lab tools like Audapter. In Summer 2021 I became lab manager.

Dinglan Tang

Position title: Postdoctoral Research Associate

Email: dtang38@wisc.edu

I am a postdoctoral fellow at  Speech Motor Neuroscience Group at UW–Madison, a collaboration between the Brain, Language, and Acoustic Behavior Lab (PI: Niziolek) and the Speech Motor Action + Control Lab (PI: Parrell). My research focuses on the mechanisms underlying sensorimotor learning in speech at both behavioral and neural level.

 

I completed my PhD in Speech&Brain lab at University of Oxford in the global pandemic (2020) with Kate Watkins and co-mentor Charlotte Stagg. My PhD work focused on the auditory-motor interactions during both speech perception and production. I use a mixture of behavioural testing (e.g. real-time feedback perturbation), Transcranial magnetic stimulation (TMS), and Magnetoencephalography/electroencephalography (M/EEG).

Kathryn Tanner

Position title: Research Assistant

Email: ktanner3@wisc.edu

I am a third-year student majoring in communication sciences and disorders. After graduating, I plan to continue my education to pursue a degree in speech-language pathology.

Katie Zettel

Position title: Research Assistant

Email: klzettel@wisc.edu

I am a Junior undergraduate majoring in Communication Sciences & Disorders and completing certificates in Disability Rights and Services, Education and Educational Services, and Leadership. I am pursuing a career in Speech-Language Pathology.

Collaborators

Ben Parrell, UW–Madison, Speech Motor Action + Control Lab
Swathi Kiran, Boston University, Aphasia Research Laboratory
Sara Beach, MIT, Gabrieli Lab
John Houde, UCSF, Speech Neuroscience Laboratory
Zarinah Agnew, UCSF, Speech Neuroscience Laboratory
Srikantan Nagarajan, UCSF, Biomagnetic Imaging Lab
Edward Chang, UCSF, Chang Lab
Tara McAllister, NYU, Biofeedback Intervention Technology for Speech Lab
Clara Martin, BCBL, Speech and Bilingualism