Brain, Language, & Acoustic Behavior Laboratory

People

Caroline Niziolek

Position title: Principal Investigator

Email: cniziolek@wisc.edu

How does what we hear affect what we say? My research combines neuroimaging and acoustic measures in an attempt to characterize speech feedback processing and what purpose it serves in communication. The overarching hypothesis that frames my work is that communicative intent defines the brain’s motor plans for speech goals.

Dominick Battistini

Position title: Research Assistant

Email: dbattistini@wisc.edu

I am a neurobiology major going into my second year here at the University of Wisconsin- Madison.  I am pursuing a career in medicine and I like to spend my free time playing the trumpet and tennis!

Emma Baumgardt

Position title: Research Assistant

Email: ebaumgardt@wisc.edu

Alexandria Beam

Position title: Research Assistant

Email: ambeam@wisc.edu

Sarah Bildsten

Position title: Research Assistant

Email: sbildsten@wisc.edu

I am an undergraduate student at UW-Madison majoring in Communication Sciences and Disorders. I have an interest in pursuing a career in Speech and Language Pathology.

Nickolas Comeau

Position title: Research Assistant/Programmer

Email: ncomeau@wisc.edu

I received my B.S. in Neurobiology and Computer Science at UW-Madison.  Through my involvement with the lab, I am building an understanding of how the brain produces and interprets speech.  I hope to use this to inform my interests in natural language processing.

Lily Englebert

Position title: Research Assistant

Email: lgenglebert@wisc.edu

I am a sophomore undergraduate majoring in psychology and neurobiology. I am planning on going to medical school after graduating from UW.

Anna Gavin

Position title: Research Assistant

Email: asgavin@wisc.edu

Lana Hantzsch

Position title: Lab Manager

Email: lhantzsch@wisc.edu

Sophie Johnson

Position title: Research Assistant

Email: sajohnson37@wisc.edu

Morgan Kuckkahn

Position title: Research Assistant

Email: mkuckkahn@wisc.edu

I am an undergraduate Junior majoring in Communication Sciences & Disorders. My plan is to continue on to graduate school to become a speech-language pathologist.

Abby Lesniak

Position title: Research Assistant

Email: alesniak@wisc.edu

I am a second-year undergraduate studying Neurobiology and Folklore. I’m an Honors Research Apprentice and excited to learn about the intersection of language and neuroscience through working in the lab.

Jenna Strand

Position title: Research Assistant

Email: jmstrand2@wisc.edu

I am an undergraduate Junior at UW-Madison studying Communication Sciences and Disorders. I am pursuing a career in Speech-Language Pathology and am excited to learn more about how the brain contributes to speech production and comprehension.

Dinglan Tang

Position title: Postdoctoral Research Associate

Email: dtang38@wisc.edu

I am a postdoctoral fellow at  Speech Motor Neuroscience Group at UW–Madison, a collaboration between the Brain, Language, and Acoustic Behavior Lab (PI: Niziolek) and the Speech Motor Action + Control Lab (PI: Parrell). My research focuses on the mechanisms underlying sensorimotor learning in speech at both behavioral and neural level.

 

I completed my PhD in Speech&Brain lab at University of Oxford in the global pandemic (2020) with Kate Watkins and co-mentor Charlotte Stagg. My PhD work focused on the auditory-motor interactions during both speech perception and production. I use a mixture of behavioural testing (e.g. real-time feedback perturbation), Transcranial magnetic stimulation (TMS), and Magnetoencephalography/electroencephalography (M/EEG).

Adelaide Zweifel

Position title: Research Assistant

Email: aazweifel@wisc.edu

I am an undergraduate student studying Communication Sciences and Disorders with certificates in Disability Rights and Services as well as Healthcare and the Humanities. I will pursue a graduate degree in Speech Language Pathology.

Collaborators

 

Ben Parrell, UW–Madison, Speech Motor Action + Control Lab
Swathi Kiran, Boston University, Aphasia Research Laboratory
Sara Beach, MIT, Gabrieli Lab
John Houde, UCSF, Speech Neuroscience Laboratory
Zarinah Agnew, UCSF, Speech Neuroscience Laboratory
Srikantan Nagarajan, UCSF, Biomagnetic Imaging Lab
Edward Chang, UCSF, Chang Lab
Tara McAllister, NYU, Biofeedback Intervention Technology for Speech Lab
Clara Martin, BCBL, Speech and Bilingualism